Ford Automobiles banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I have 10 days off so It is time to replace my bad axle and seal in my 86 crown vic. Two years ago I had a bearing wear out and my mechanic put an offset bearing kit in it to keep me from having to buy an axle shaft. Now here I am taking it out again, guess that is what you get when you try to save money. I have never done this before so I am posting pix of my progress this morning so yall can laugh at me and hollar if you see me make any mistakes that will cost me more money later. Enjoy.......

IMG_1427.jpg
Brake shoes soaked in grease.

IMG_1429.jpg
Pretty good looking ring gear to me for a 25 year old car.

IMG_1432.jpg
crappy axle out
IMG_1433.jpg
Garter spring from the inside seal just laying in there!
IMG_1434.jpg
Outside seal distorted, no wonder it leaked!
IMG_1435.jpg
New axle from a company in New Jersey, big shout out to Poppy's home state!!

So far the only hard thing was getting a greasy slick shaft out of the carrier, kind of like trying to catch a greased pig. Now I am going to take the other axle out while I have it apart because it is making a noise and see if I need to order another one today, then it off to town to buy bearings and seals and to see if I can find a loaner tool to pull this old bearing out. If I don't have to have another axle hopefully I will be "in the wind" by this afternoon....

Attachments

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
well, Here's the axle from the other side, looks like I may be calling New Jersey again what do you think.

IMG_1436.jpg

Also there is a small black o-ring where the c-clip seats on the axle shaft. of course my new axle doesn't have one, what are the chances of me carefully getting these off without breaking them and If I have to find new ones what do I ask for?

IMG_1437.jpg

Thanks for any advice:smile5:

Attachments

·
Registered
798 Posts