Ford Automobiles banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
I just completed an intake manifold replacement... on a 1998 4.6 L Grand Marqui all is back together. Keep in mind this car has been sitting for three years. I did an oil and oil filter change,fresh antifreeze and a new battery. I've no experience with this car and with that being said it won't fire. It turns fine but won't start. There's 1/4 tank of fuel. I put a bottle of Heet and added about 2 gallons of fuel. I'm thinking maybe the gas is bad? Is there a way to introduce fresh fuel to the injectors so I can rule out faulty injectors? How do you check firing?

Thanks all!

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
Cranks but don't start
When you turn the key ON, the CEL should light, it should gradually go out as you crank the engine. If it doesn't go out, then the computer is not getting a good signal from the crankshaft position sensor, or the PCM is bad.
If the light never comes on, there can be a number of reasons, such as: the bulb is burnt out, your ignition switch is bad, fuses are bad, faulty EEC relay, bad grounds.

You may also want to check your fuel pressure at the rail.
look for 35 psi or more.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm leaning towards dropping the tank. Letting it dry out and putting new fuel in and replacing the fuel filter. Can you hear the pump prime when you turn the key on? That 1/4 tank of fuel is probably no longer very combustible. I'm imagining also that the system pressure was lost couple of years ago and the fuel lines went dry. That being said, does the pump have the recall ability to reprime those injectors with just a few cranks? What are your thoughts? Take this route before pursuing the others? How do you check FP at the rail? Again, is there any way to introduce a shot of fuel to the injectors through the rail?

Thanks Friend!

Have you ever dropped the tank? Is it a PITA?

·
Registered
4,352 Posts