Ford Automobiles banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i took my instrument panel out today to replace the regulator, thinking that is what was causing my fuel reading trouble... anyway:

did that, slapped everything back together & tried to start the car... it turned about 1/4 and it just stopped as if i let go of the key. i gave it another try thinking maybe i slipped off early... nothing, nada- zilch. no clicks, no smoke, no nothing from the starter (its brand new- maybe 5 starts on it).

everything works as i think it should electrically, except of course it starting.

so... i start checking fuses- all look ok (the only ones are under/behind the headlight switch, right?).. then i put the old regulator back in, paying attention to everything looking ok before putting the cluster back in again. still nothing.

im at a loss here fellas... im not too experienced with older cars, its so simple i can't comprehend how to troubleshoot it.

i tested the ignition switch by playing with a multimeter and the starter solenoid, i know the wires from the switch to the solenoid are good, but how do i test the solenoid itself? put a lead on the pos lug and a lead on the starter lug & turn the key?

pete

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
Please Post a picture.

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
dumbass of the day!!!

....... went out this morning with a fresh brain....

put it in park, started right up.... LOL. i must have put it in gear for a little more room when i took the cluster out. god i feel like an idiot...

pete

·
Registered
534 Posts
Hey,pete , as Whoopi Goldberd once stated," He who is without dogs*!t on his sneaker, take the first step on the white carpet!"

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
the biggest pain is, the new regulator didn't help squat, so back to the drawing board on that one...