Ford Automobiles banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
(Editing Note: This thread was peaced together of numerous installments on other car forums to have a complete run through from the time I started until the current time and placed in this one post. If something seems incongruent or contradictory, it is because what you are looking at and the words typed may have been typed over a year ago and not edited for consistency.)

A 1968 Ford Torino had been appearing on Craigslist for several weeks in Angier, NC and the price was slowly coming down... as I am a student at Campbell University, which is very close nearby, I went over one day after class to check it out. At the time, I was finishing up my freshman year and my parents bought the car as a restoration project for me on April 9th, 2009.

The car had a rebuilt 429 out of a 1969 Ford Thunderbird with a C-6 (3 speed) automatic, on the column. The 390 engine that came with the car had spun a bearing and the previous owner sold it. A 390 would be purchased later to go back in.

I plan to repaint the car Wimbleton White. If it were anything but an original GT (body code 63D!!), I would probably go for a 4 on the floor and bucket seats. But as it is, it's an original GT. The previous owner was going to try ot hoko up a floor shifter.. that's coming out and I'm welding some metal over teh whoel he drilled. I plan to go back to as original as possible... restoring a muscle car to a bench seat and column shift automatic, because thats how this one came.

Here are the required pictures.... first, a few from the first day...

ai229.photobucket.com_albums_ee320_SuperSlowMonte_Beginning1.jpg

ai229.photobucket.com_albums_ee320_SuperSlowMonte_Beginning2.jpg

A dent in the drivers side front fender...

ai229.photobucket.com_albums_ee320_SuperSlowMonte_Beginning3.jpg

ai229.photobucket.com_albums_ee320_SuperSlowMonte_BeginningFront.jpg