Ford Automobiles banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
64 Falcon Sedan Futura, 408 on bags
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so I took the brake drums off my falcon to find a long history of saturated dirt and oil in my drum. The wheel cylinder doesn’t look bad, but who knows.... I thought maybe it’s leaking at the axle seals... so, since I’m new to American cars, I called falcon parts to get some help in identifying things and I have decided not to shop through them due to how rude he was on the phone. Said look on the internet and was rude the whole time. Not a good way to get a customer.
Anyways... here I am... I have no idea what rear end I have, as my car was originally a v6. And the drums look bigger than a falcons original... by these pictures (or more if needed) can anyone help me identify what I have? And what things I should fix/change while
I’m here.
C7C4B2BB-0991-44E8-B0FE-ACB122A33F4C.jpeg
AEF7B39E-CE4E-4EC5-AC8A-438403F775E5.jpeg
984F35E3-15EE-44C6-A91F-7F48F2AE7E4C.jpeg

·
Super Moderator
14,895 Posts
The bearing looks a little rough.
The shoes look soaked.

Is there a metal tag on the differential part of the rear axle?
If yes there will be two rows of numbers.

Post the numbers or just post a clear picture.

Not sure why anyone needs to be rude. We all just want to play with our cars.

Action

Reactions: Goldfinger1957

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
So I’ve been doing some more cleaning and YouTubing... I still don’t know where this rear ended comes from... no tag on the diff, but it is a Ford 8”. Axles are 28 spline, wheel cylinders are 7/8” and backing plate says 70858. Looks like the previous owner never put the shoe adjuster stops on the star.... doubt it wouldn’t come with one from factory..? And drum is stamped 73649

·
Super Moderator
14,895 Posts
I am not exactly sure what the donor vehicle was.
There are so many vehicles that used that axle.