Ford Automobiles banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello

I do have ford 289 engine, untouched. I want to upgrade it for the maximum HP and adjust it for nitroius oxide .
Any advice on what to do, which parts to replace? Any experience for the nitrous oxide pipng?
Im new to this and need detailed advice please?
I need it suitable for street as well as drag race
thanx
email:[email protected]

·
Registered
1,755 Posts
If you are serious about doing this you will need a new, clean sheet to start with. Nitrous is very harsh so you will need to re-manufacture your engine from the bottom up. Truthfully your money would be better spend on a crate engine from Summit, Jegs or some other supplier. Nitrous kits are not that difficult to do depending on what HP you are looking for. You can get a 75HP fogger kit that requires very little machining to the full on 300+kits that require machining the intake and running added fuel lines. With every nitrous set up you need to also have a system to enrich the fuel at the same time. NOX burns very hot and dry so failure to add fuel will result in a melt down.

·
Registered
262 Posts
This is just my opinion but bottles are for babies.. It has always seemed to be a pretty expensive way to get an increase in HP. Yeah an entire setup may only cost a couple hundred dollars. But when you're replacing rods,bearing & looking for a new block. It turns out to be a pretty expensive solution. You're better off building an engine that will handle the same amount of torque & HP. BTW it's not just the engine that powers the car. You also need a matching trans & rear end... You can have a monster of an engine. But if your trans & differential can't handle the mods. Then you're going no where real fast..

Always remember this one true fact. There is no replacement for displacement.. You can get a small block to put out 7000 RPMs & 500HP if built correctly...