Ford Automobiles banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I picked up this Ford Econoline XLT E150, it is a 5.4L V8 and it has 84,000 miles.. from a lovely older couple. I was looking over the engine and transmission and I noticed this wet area around the tail of the transmission (looks like a gasket area?) Can someone please help me identify what gasket this is or what may be leaking? I would so appreciate that! This is my first time owning a massive vehicle that isn't a small city car.

This image was taken from inside the van, so this is actually the top of the transmission. No problems shifting, and fluid is nice and pink. Any ideas? Or has anyone replaced this or worked on this? Thanks!!

Automotive tire Mammal Steering wheel Steering part Tints and shades

·
Registered
8,000 Posts
Welcome to the Forum
I can't see it well
It could be a vent on top of the cace being plugged up
Or it could be a tail housing to case gasket

·
Administrator
15,321 Posts
Welcome to the FFO!

Dominick is correct. There is a small round dome in that area and off to one side. It is the transmission vent.
Only air is supposed to come in and go out. There are two reasons fluid (that I can think of) would come out.

The transmission was/is over filled. Check and fill ONLY when fluid is hot
Or the fluid got over heated as it was driven with a load or under conditions where the heated up fluid could not shed enough heat through the cooler. (Towing in OD would be one situation that could happen)

There is a gasket back there where the tail housing bolts to the main housing. It is a rare event for that gasket to leak.

Best approach would be to
Check and if needed fill fluid correctly. Better yet if you do not know how long ago it was changed then do that*
Clean that area with some type of chemical and do not get it into the vent. Then check after 100 miles.