Ford Automobiles banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2000 Ford Excursion and my truck sways side to side when I am driving. It seems the faster i go the harder it is to control. It seems like whenever i compensate to go straight i have to almost immediately compensate in the opposite direction. I took it to a local shop and they told me my wheel hubs are fine, my tie rods are fine, and my gear box is fine. I also just replace all of my shocks. I am a college student that will be driving 15 hrs home with a trailer in two weeks and really need to fix this problem. Please Help!!!!!!!!!!!!

·
Registered
158 Posts
I just did a web search for your problem. It seems to be a very common problem. There is aTSB about stiff or wandering steering. The first operation to perform is a precise wheel alignment according to Ford.
How much play is in the steering wheel With the truck just sitting and using just two fingers to turn the wheel? If it is more than 1/4 to 3/8 inch you might need the steering box adjusted, or possibly a worn drag link end.
Worn ball joints or tie ends or a worn steering shaft coupling can also cause play.
It seems that there is an inherent problem with rear spring wrap up that amplifies the tendency to wander on that model. The cure for that problem would be to install traction control bars or radius rods.

Attached is the TSB I found.

Attachments

·
Registered
49 Posts
I have a 2000 Ford Excursion and my truck sways side to side when I am driving. It seems the faster i go the harder it is to control. It seems like whenever i compensate to go straight i have to almost immediately compensate in the opposite direction. I took it to a local shop and they told me my wheel hubs are fine, my tie rods are fine, and my gear box is fine. I also just replace all of my shocks. I am a college student that will be driving 15 hrs home with a trailer in two weeks and really need to fix this problem. Please Help!!!!!!!!!!!!