Ford Automobiles banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,

I could sure use some wise advice from fellow Bronco enthusiasts and mechanics. I have a '94 Bronco with 165k miles on it. Except for some neurological (electrical) problems, and a few door rattles here and there, it's a wonderful vehicle!

The Bronco was my husband's baby until he passed away from cancer in 2004. I love that truck! But I'm no mechanic -- nothing like my late hubby -- and I'm starting to feel a little nervous about driving an older vehicle, especially on long road trips.

So, my question to you is this:

With proper care and maintenance, how long do you think this truck will be a reliable family vehicle?

Or put another way, when I should start looking to replace her with something newer?

Thanks so much for your advice here!!

·
Registered
49 Posts
I'm sure you know that the Bronco is essentially a short-bed 4 wheel drive F150. My 1995 F150 runs great and has 226,000 miles on it.

I also have a 1981 Bronco that is rough, but I still drive, and it starts and runs great. It was very neglected but I've got it back in better shape.

I've lost some cars that I loved, and now I miss them so much.

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
As much as I love my Bronco, it is a little difficult to justify as a daily driver due to the poor gas mileage. I only have about 130,000 miles on it and would drive it cross country tomorrow except that I have a bar-b-que planned.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks so much for the input! I would sure miss that Bronco if I got rid of it...but of course the gas mileage is awfully low... You know, what I might do is get the kinks worked out electrically and give it a good, thorough check from a mechanic -- then pass it down to my son who will start driving next year. He'd love that!

·
Registered
262 Posts