Ford Automobiles banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Problem started 2 weeks ago. Three engine lights would come on when the truck malfunctioned. (1) Water in Fuel, (2) Wait to Start & (3) Service engine light. I've replaced the Injector pressure control sensor due to the fact there was oil seeping out of it. Once I unplugged that sensor all lights exstingished but the rig still stalled! I'm new to the deisel world but fairly mechanical. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
798 Posts
All of those lights should come on every time you turn the key to run (not start). They will come on after the engine stalls too. If they are coming on before the engine stalls you have intermittent electrical problems. Does this happen when you hit a bump in the road? If so, something is loose or about ready to die.

Have you replaced the Cam Position Sensor (CPS), they are prone to intermittent trouble just like you describe. You might get one for free from the dealer if your VIN is still open to the re-call..otherwise they're about $25. Get it at the dealer, the aftermarket replacements are junk. Be sure to get an extra one to carry in the cab. They sometimes just fail with no warning.

Did you drain the fuel filter housing (Water in Fuel light). Look for the yellow handle lever on the side of the filter bowl. Turn it 90 degrees. Be sure to have a catch pan under the front of the engine, this is where the fuel will come out.

I ASSuME the CEL is on?? Get it scanned for codes even if it isn't. The scan tool needs to be compatible with your diesel, however the operator is the most important part of the equation. They need to monitor the PIDs while cranking and during normal operation and be able to know what they are looking at.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·