Ford Automobiles banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok didnt know where to put this so this section looked good ... and this is about mactools and snapon ... i have always been a snapon fan, but i have been price comparing between the two, frankly because im tired of snaping craftsman tools or stretching them ... but i have noticed that mactools seems to have the same quality with a lot lower price, anyone care to comment on this ... any suggestion ... am i off my rocker ... let discuss the better tool!

·
Registered
2,028 Posts
that's ok. i prefer Craftsman, mostly because i don't want to hunt down the guy...

·
Registered
96 Posts
I also prefer Craftsman. Never broke one. Well, I did have a ratchet go bad once !

I'm not a Pro, but Snap On and Mac are way over priced as far as I am concerned !

·
Registered
4,352 Posts
When I was a kid I had a cheap set of tools made in Japan before Japan made good quality steel. With them I could pull starters, alternators, carburetors, and most parts off and put them back on. If however I started to strip a bolt head, I would get my dad's craftsman. I never had one break.

My brother in law maintains a fleet of garbage trucks, and swears by snap-on. He said that he had snapped a couple of craftsman impact sockets.

Another good friend who has a front end shop told me that he has all snap on tools. Primarily because that is what he bought when he first opened his shop. It took a LONG time to pay them off. Now he continues to buy snap on, but only becuase he has to buy very few tools each year. IF he had to do it over again, would he have started with craftsman? With a smile he said... well maybe. For ocassional use, or a set of tools for use at home, craftsman is fine.